There are so many movies that are coming out, or have come out recently that have been adapted from books. The most recent one to come out is Me Before You based on the novel by JoJo Moyes. Back in February of this year when I went to go see How To Be Single in theaters, I saw the preview for Me Before You. As soon as I saw it, I immediately went online and ordered the book. Once I started reading it, I could not put it down!! It is a heartbreakingly, beautiful story of an unlikely romance. Like any film adaptation of a book, though, I was hesitant of how the process of page to screen would actually work out.

I am pleased to say that this was a wonderful adaptation. Every important scene from the book was portrayed in the film. That is not to say that there was not items omitted, because there definitely was. However, the writers were very tactful and successful in choosing which items to omit. There were some scenes and items that were shortened for the film, but they were done so in such a way that you still knew what exactly was going on. There was also a slight change in the ending, in an *attempt* to make it less emotional, I would imagine. (I say attempt because it was definitely still immensely emotional for me). I don’t want to give too much away about the ending incase anyone has not read the book yet, but I thought it was the perfect way to portray the ending on the screen.

I’d like to take a little time to talk about the main actors, Emilia  Clarke and Sam Claflin. Louisa Clark is a one-of-a-kind, free-spirited girl with the biggest loving heart, and Clarke embodied that perfectly. She did an amazing job of showing both the dorkiness and the sincerely caring personality that is Louisa. It was hard to imagine her in the role knowing her as such a strong character in Game of Thrones, but she was amazing. Will Traynor is a former adrenaline junkie/successful business man, who suffers an unfortunate accident and becomes a quadriplegic. He’s a very stubborn man who only Louisa can get to even crack a smile. Claflin does a wonderful job of portraying a very depressed man who finds companionship in a most unlikely time in his life.

Now, I have recently read some articles and posts of people saying that they are boycotting the film, and encouraging others to boycott as well. Because of this fact, and the sensitive and controversial topic, I do feel the need to speak about this. Both the book and the film deal with the topic of medically assisted suicide. If this is something that you adamantly disagree with, then you might want to consider not seeing this film. However, if this is not something that you have previously given much thought to, I urge you to watch this and form your own opinion on the topic.

I really enjoyed the film and thought that it was a beautiful adaptation of the book. I definitely recommend the film, but definitely advise to bring a box of tissues with you! Such a beautiful story.

XO,

Sarah

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

